Search This Blog

Translate

Blog Archive

FOR ORIGINAL POSTS

SAME POSTS, FASTER FORMATTING:

Toyota

Since the Dilly, Dally, Delay & Stall Law Firms are adding their billable hours, the Toyota U.S.A. and Route 44 Toyota posts have been separated here:

Route 44 Toyota Sold Me A Lemon



Sunday, December 31, 2017

Erica Garner Never Stopped Fighting


Erica Garner Never Stopped Fighting





No Selfies This New Year


No Selfies This New Year




New Year’s Message And Warning From A War Correspondent


New Year’s Message And Warning From A War Correspondent




Charles Pierce | Trump's New York Times Interview Is a Portrait of a Man in Cognitive Decline



Charles Pierce | Trump's New York Times Interview Is a Portrait of a Man in Cognitive Decline




U.S. Military Prepares for Winter War With North Korea, Russia by Buying Thousands of Skis


U.S. Military Prepares for Winter War With North Korea, Russia by Buying Thousands of Skis





Robert Reich | New Year's Update for Trump Voters


Robert Reich | New Year's Update for Trump Voters  




Dan Rather | We Are in Dangerous and Uncharted Waters



Dan Rather | We Are in Dangerous and Uncharted Waters




Betsy Woodruff | Trump Inc. Had a Rough Year, but His DC Hotel Is Killing It


Betsy Woodruff | Trump Inc. Had a Rough Year, but His DC Hotel Is Killing It





Cornel West: We Live in One of the Darkest Moments in American History


Cornel West: We Live in One of the Darkest Moments in American History





Friday, December 29, 2017

The SCOURGE of NAZIS by any other name......


The SCOURGE of NAZIS by any other name......




William Boardman | Trump Endorses Criminal Conspiracy !Crush Honduras Vote


William Boardman | Trump Endorses Criminal Conspiracy !Crush Honduras Vote




MASSterList: Cold calls | Free spender | Confusion reigns




MASSterList: Cold calls | Free spender | Confusion reigns




With More to Come, New JFK Documents Offer Fresh Leads 54 Years Later


With More to Come, New JFK Documents Offer Fresh Leads 54 Years Later




Betsy Woodruff | Trump Administration Is Set to Add Another Burden on Immigrants


Betsy Woodruff | Trump Administration Is Set to Add Another Burden on Immigrants




Laughing Isn't Banned at US Supreme Court. Here Are Some of the Year's Best Lines





Laughing Isn't Banned at US Supreme Court. Here Are Some of the Year's Best Lines



Thursday, December 28, 2017

Trump Is Packing the Courts With Unqualified Conservative Extremists




Trump Is Packing the Courts With Unqualified Conservative Extremists




Bernie Sanders | We Need Tax Reform That Benefits Middle-Class Families, Not the 1%



Mosey over for current and original posts: 

Middleboro Review et al 



Bernie Sanders | We Need Tax Reform That Benefits Middle-Class Families, Not the 1%




Michael Isikoff | Mueller Probe Outgrows Its 'Witch Hunt' Phase


WANDER OVER TO MIDDLEBORO REVIEW ET AL for more!





Michael Isikoff | Mueller Probe Outgrows Its 'Witch Hunt' Phase





MASSterList: Booze taxes | Sen. Crighton? | ‘Project Rufus’


MASSterList: Booze taxes | Sen. Crighton? | ‘Project Rufus’




John Kiriakou | Can #MeToo Reach the Hidden Victims?


John Kiriakou | Can #MeToo Reach the Hidden Victims?




Daniel Ellsberg: Americans Have Escaped Self-Annihilation by Luck


Wander over for more to:

Middleboro Review et al



Daniel Ellsberg: Americans Have Escaped Self-Annihilation by Luck




Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Sexual Assault Charges Filed Against Former Trump Campaign Manager Corey Lewandowski



Lewandowski was charged with battery in March 2016, when he was still Trump’s campaign manager, after a Breitbart reporter, Michelle Fields, accused him of grabbing and bruising her arm and knocking her down at a campaign event. Fields dropped the charges, and Lewandowski was soon fired from the campaign.


Sexual Assault Charges Filed Against Former Trump Campaign Manager Corey Lewandowski




Pilgrim Nuclear FAILS again!




Pilgrim Nuclear FAILS again!





Paul Krugman | America Is Not Yet Lost




Paul Krugman | America Is Not Yet Lost





Virginia Couple, Obama Precinct Captain, Murdered by Daughter's Neo-Nazi Boyfriend.



Virginia Couple, Obama Precinct Captain, Murdered by Daughter's Neo-Nazi Boyfriend.




MASSterList: Blowing it | Green’s lock? | Highest paid teachers


MASSterList: Blowing it | Green’s lock? | Highest paid teachers




This & that.....


This & that.....





Robert Redford | The GOP 'Tax Scam' Is a 'Dirty Deal' for America


Robert Redford | The GOP 'Tax Scam' Is a 'Dirty Deal' for America




Russia Never Stopped Its Cyberattacks on the United States


Russia Never Stopped Its Cyberattacks on the United States





Dunning–Kruger effect "We Are All Confident Idiots"



Dunning–Kruger effect "We Are All Confident Idiots"




Sally Yates | Who Are We as a Country? Time to Decide


Sally Yates | Who Are We as a Country? Time to Decide




Tuesday, December 26, 2017

How Facebook's Political Unit Enables the Dark Art of Digital Propaganda


How Facebook's Political Unit Enables the Dark Art of Digital Propaganda





The Jerusalem Vote And The US-Israel Link


The Jerusalem Vote And The US-Israel Link




MASSterList: Online offensive | Chang change? | Potomac Fever season


MASSterList: Online offensive | Chang change? | Potomac Fever season




Report finds wage increases do not relate to drops in teen employment


Report finds wage increases do not relate to drops in teen employment





Signing Up for Obamacare After Trump Proclaims It 'Dead'





Signing Up for Obamacare After Trump Proclaims It 'Dead'




Charles Pierce | I Stand With Scrooge's Nephew


Charles Pierce | I Stand With Scrooge's Nephew




Kareem Abdul-Jabbar | How #MeToo Can Help Right America's Wrongs in 2018


Kareem Abdul-Jabbar | How #MeToo Can Help Right America's Wrongs in 2018




NLJ: This Paul Weiss Partner Got the Trump 'Intent' to Lead the FTC. What's the Delay?


NLJ: This Paul Weiss Partner Got the Trump 'Intent' to Lead the FTC. What's the Delay?





Monday, December 25, 2017

Tom Engelhardt | Who Cares? Not Them, Not It, Not Him, Not (Evidently) Us


Tom Engelhardt | Who Cares? Not Them, Not It, Not Him, Not (Evidently) Us



DEA Operation Played Hidden Role in the Disappearance of Five Innocent Mexicans


DEA Operation Played Hidden Role in the Disappearance of Five Innocent Mexicans




Dan Rather | I Sense a Deep Stirring Across This Nation


Dan Rather | I Sense a Deep Stirring Across This Nation




How To Restore Our Relationship To Earth


How To Restore Our Relationship To Earth



The NLJ's Most Popular Stories of the Week




The NLJ's Most Popular Stories of the Week



Wish you all a Merry Christmas


Wish you all a Merry Christmas




Charles Pierce | Neil Gorsuch Is in the Neil Gorsuch Business




Charles Pierce | Neil Gorsuch Is in the Neil Gorsuch Business




Study: 298 lives could have been saved with speed control technology






Study: 298 lives could have been saved with speed control technology


PUBLISHED: 
By Michael Balsamo and Michael Sisak | Associated Press
Nearly 300 people have died in train crashes that could have been prevented if railroads across the U.S. implemented critical speed-control technology that federal safety investigators have been pushing for close to five decades, according to rail crash data obtained by The Associated Press.
But despite overwhelming evidence it could save lives, Congress extended the deadlines for railroads to implement positive train control for years.
All the while, new high-speed train routes continue to spring into operation without the technology, including the new route involved in Monday’s Amtrak crash south of Seattle that killed three people and one in Florida that’s expected to start service in the coming weeks.
Data the NTSB provided to AP on Wednesday shows the crashes the NTSB says could’ve been prevented by positive train control have caused 298 deaths, 6,763 injuries and nearly $385 million in property damage. The records list crashes though May 2015 — when an Amtrak train derailed in Philadelphia, killing eight people — and do not include Monday’s wreck outside of Seattle, which experts say likely could have been prevented by the technology.
The board first recommending using “automatic train control” after two Penn Central commuter trains collided in Darien, Connecticut on Aug, 20, 1969, killing four and injuring 43.
The GPS-based technology is designed to automatically slow or stop trains that are going too fast and can take over control of a train when an engineer is distracted or incapacitated.
“We have recommended PTC for decades,” Bella Dinh-Zarr, a member of the NTSB, said Tuesday. “Unfortunately the deadline was moved farther into the future, and every year that we wait to implement PTC to its fullest extent means that more people will be killed and injured.”
A 2008 Metrolink crash in California that killed 25 people pushed PTC to become a hot-button issue on Capitol Hill. Lawmakers mandated railroad companies install the GPS-based PTC technology by 2015, but rail agencies said they didn’t have enough time to install the expensive, complicated system.
Despite rebukes from the federal agency that regulates train travel, congress extended the deadline until the end of 2018 and now, in some circumstances, railroads can apply for an extension until 2020.
Positive train control was installed on 24 percent of the nation’s passenger route miles and 45 percent of freight route miles as of September 30, the date of the Federal Railroad Administration’s most recent quarterly update to its online tracker for the technology.
“Railroads need to stop the foot-dragging and implement Positive Train Control without delay – inaction puts lives at risk,” U.S. Sen. Richard Blumenthal, a Democrat from Connecticut, said Thursday on Twitter.
Still, railroads are opening new lines without positive train control.
When Amtrak officially launched its new, faster route near Seattle without the technology on Monday, it came at a deadly cost. Experts say it is likely the technology would’ve prevented the derailment that killed three people when the train — speeding at 50 mph over the limit — went off the rails, sending several cars flying off a bridge onto the highway below. Work to install positive train control isn’t expected to be completed until next spring on the newly opened 15-mile span where the train derailed, according to Sound Transit, the public agency that owns the tracks.
“Should they have just waited to inaugurate service? In hindsight, maybe yes,” said David B. Clarke, who runs the Center for Transportation Research at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. “Clearly, if PTC was active, this would not have happened.”
Washington Gov. Jay Inslee said Amtrak had committed to trying to ensuring the technology will be in place statewide before the Dec. 31, 2018 deadline. Amtrak also offered to pay all costs associated with deadly train derailment, as well as medical and other expenses of the victims, Inslee, a Democrat, said.
Positive train control is activated on the tracks Amtrak owns along the Northeast Corridor, from Boston to Washington, D.C., and on Amtrak’s Michigan line. Many of its locomotives are equipped for positive train control. Throughout the rest of the country, Amtrak operates on track owned by freight carriers and other entities that have made varying progress on installing the technology.
In Florida, a higher-speed passenger rail service known as Brightline is expected to launch in the next few weeks. But positive train control will not be operational when the trains roll out on those lines, drawing the ire of some local officials and community groups.
Ali Soule, a spokeswoman for Brightline, said in a statement that the trains have automatic train control, which can sound an alert in the train’s cab to alert the engineer if the train is going too fast and full positive train control is expected to be implemented by the federal deadline at the end of 2018.

BMW of North America, LLC

Robert – 12-09-2017
 
Just wanted to let you know that my daughter was almost killed on December
6, 2017 at 4:30pm due to her 2006 BMW 325i catching fire. She was driving to
work and the engine busted into flames. She was lucky to pull over do to the
car shutting off. Smart thinking on her part to roll down the window because
the door locks failed to allow her to open the door and get out. The problem is
we received no recall notice and had the bmw worked on at two different bmw
dealers. How could someone at bmw not know about these issues. I have
owned several BMWs but no more. The value of these cars are horrible now. I
guess with insurance I will take a 10,000 dollar loss and have a daughter with
no vehicle. I thank God she got out, but would like to hear from BMW


http://www.corporate-office-headquarters.com/bmw-of-north-america-llc

My Gas Pedal Got Stuck Today..





My Gas Pedal Got Stuck Today...

I was merging on the freeway today and pressed hard on the pedal to pass a semi-truck with one of those "not responsible for broken windshields" signs.

Suddenly I felt the truck accelerating by itself with my foot off the pedal. It was accelerating like I was flooring it. Extremely hard acceleration!

Traffic was a little heavy so I was concerned I could rear-end someone. I got confused for 1 second trying to engage neutral. I know my shifter is not on the steering column, but somehow I thought it was for a second or two. I haven't driven a car with a shifter in the column for at least 20 years!

Finally I put the truck in neutral and the engine kept revving until it hit the red area on the tach and the limiter kicked in. I then engaged drive again and everything appeared to be normal and drove home. Scary stuff!

The truck is a 2006 access cab with the 2.7 four cylinder and 4 speed automatic that I purchased new. It has 146K miles now.

It has been a reliable truck with predictable acceleration.

I took it to the dealer and they suggested mat interference. I never did that recall. And yes I'm using an aftermarket all weather mat.

However, if the mat was the culprit then once I engaged drive again the engine should have kept accelerating. So I am thinking this could be a problem with the accelerator itself or the software.

I briefly looked at the pedal area when it was accelerating and the mat was placed correctly. This is a heavy mat that doesn't easily move...

I'm taking the truck in next week to do this and a couple of other recalls.


http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/61-tacoma-2nd-generation-2005-2015/1567146-my-gas-pedal-got-stuck-today.html


Vehicle Speed Control Problem on the 2006 TOYOTA TACOMA


File a Vehicle Safety Complaint



2006 Toyota Tacoma Vehicle Speed Control Service Bulletin 336678
Action Number: 10045140
Service Bulletin Number: 336678 Report Date: Jun 13, 2012
Component: Vehicle Speed Control
Summary: Toyota: accelerator pedal sensor assembly information regarding the inspection,
removal, and installation, if lubrication or oil, is applied. *pe


2006 Toyota Tacoma Recalls

--------------------------------------------
2006 Toyota Tacoma Vehicle Speed Control Recall 09V388000
Action Number: N/A
Service Bulletin Number: 09V388000
Report Date: Oct 05, 2009 Component: Vehicle Speed Control
Potential Units Affected: 4445056
Manufacturer: Toyota Motor North America, Inc.
 
Summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2004-2010 passenger vehicles. The accelerator pedal can get stuck in the wide open position due to
its being trapped by an unsecured or incompatible driver's floor mat.
Consequence: A stuck open accelerator pedal may result in very high vehicle speeds and make it difficult to stop the vehicle, which could cause a
crash, serious injury or death.
Remedy: Toyota filed an amended defect report on november 25, 2009, stating that dealers will modify the accelerator pedal and, on certain vehicles,
alter the shape of the floor surface under the pedal. These changes address the risk of pedal entrapment due to interference with the floor mat.
Redesigned accelerator pedals will become available beginning in april 2010 and dealers will replace any modified pedal with the new pedal if
desired. Also, dealers will replace any genuine toyota or lexus all-weather floor mats with redesigned all-weather mats, or repurchase the previous
mats from owners who do not want the new ones. Additionally, software modifications will be installed on camry, avalon and lexus es 350, is 350 and
is 250 models that will ensure that the brake overrides the accelerator in the event both brake and accelerator pedals are applied. Toyota will begin
mailing letters to owners on december 31, 2009. Owners may contact toyota at 1-800-331-4331, lexus at 1-800-255-3987.
 
Notes: Toyota recall no. 90l/90lg. Owners may also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-
4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to http://www. Safercar. Gov>http://www. Safercar. Gov

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Obama’s CIA Chief just tweeted at Trump with his first tweets ever


Obama’s CIA Chief just tweeted at Trump with his first tweets ever





North Carolina Republican Danny McComas on Friday submitted his resignation from the state Board of Transportation



North Carolina Republican Danny McComas on Friday submitted his resignation from the state Board of Transportation




This & that.....



This & that.....




TRUMP WILL MAKE U.S. AN AUTOCRACY UNLESS AMERICANS SPEAK OUT, SALLY YATES SUGGESTS IN STINGING OP-ED



TRUMP WILL MAKE U.S. AN AUTOCRACY UNLESS AMERICANS SPEAK OUT, SALLY YATES SUGGESTS IN STINGING OP-ED




Report Finds 327 Superfund Sites Face Climate Change, Flood Risks



Report Finds 327 Superfund Sites Face Climate Change, Flood Risks




Naomi Klein and Opal Tometi | Forget Coates vs. West - We All Have a Duty to Confront the Full Reach of US Empire


Naomi Klein and Opal Tometi | Forget Coates vs. West - We All Have a Duty to Confront the Full Reach of US Empire




Honduras: US FAILED FOREIGN POLICY


Honduras: US FAILED FOREIGN POLICY




The Movement to Divest From Fossil Fuels Gains Momentum


The Movement to Divest From Fossil Fuels Gains Momentum





Al Franken's Final Senate Speech


Al Franken's Final Senate Speech




A Dubious Arrest, a Compromised Prosecutor, a Tainted Plea: How One Murder Case Exposes a Broken System


A Dubious Arrest, a Compromised Prosecutor, a Tainted Plea: How One Murder Case Exposes a Broken System




Bob Corker, Corrupt? What a Surprise


Bob Corker, Corrupt? What a Surprise




Gabriel Sherman | "I Have Power": Is Steve Bannon Running for President?


Gabriel Sherman | "I Have Power": Is Steve Bannon Running for President?




The world's forceful response to the Trump administration's foreign policy moves



The world's forceful response to the Trump administration's foreign policy moves




Daniel Ellsberg On The Pentagon Papers To Donald Trump: What Have We Learned? | MTP Daily | MSNBC


Daniel Ellsberg On The Pentagon Papers To Donald Trump: What Have We Learned? | MTP Daily | MSNBC