Toyota

Since the Dilly, Dally, Delay & Stall Law Firms are adding their billable hours, the Toyota U.S.A. and Route 44 Toyota posts have been separated here:

Route 44 Toyota Sold Me A Lemon



Sunday, March 26, 2017

Donald, This I Will Tell You



Donald, This I Will Tell You



 






Donald, you said you could shake up Washington and make it 
work again. Instead, you’re the one who got worked over. Credit


Al Drago/The New York Times



WASHINGTON — Dear Donald,
We’ve known each other a long time, so I think I can be blunt.
You know how you said at campaign rallies that you did not like being identified as a politician?
Don’t worry. No one will ever mistake you for a politician.
After this past week, they won’t even mistake you for a top-notch negotiator.
I was born here. The first image in my memory bank is the Capitol, all lit up at night. And my primary observation about Washington is this: Unless you’re careful, you end up turning into what you started out scorning.
And you, Donald, are getting a reputation as a sucker. And worse, a sucker who is a tool of the D.C. establishment.
Your whole campaign was mocking your rivals and the D.C. elite, jawing about how Americans had turned into losers, with our bad deals and open borders and the Obamacare “disaster.”
And you were going to fly in on your gilded plane and fix all that in a snap.
You mused that a good role model would be Ronald Reagan. As you saw it, Reagan was a big, good-looking guy with a famous pompadour; he had also been a Democrat and an entertainer. But Reagan had one key quality that you don’t have: He knew what he didn’t know.
You both resembled Macy’s Thanksgiving Day balloons, floating above the nitty-gritty and focusing on a few big thoughts. But President Reagan was confident enough to accept that he needed experts below, deftly maneuvering the strings.
You’re just careering around on your own, crashing into buildings and losing altitude, growling at the cameras and spewing nasty conspiracy theories, instead of offering a sunny smile, bipartisanship, optimism and professionalism.
You promised to get the best people around you in the White House, the best of the best. In fact, “best” is one of your favorite words.
Instead, you dragged that motley skeleton crew into the White House and let them create a feuding, leaking, belligerent, conspiratorial, sycophantic atmosphere. Instead of a smooth, classy operator like James Baker, you have a Manichaean anarchist in Steve Bannon.
You knew the Republicans were full of hot air. They haven’t had to pass anything in a long time, and they have no aptitude for governing. To paraphrase an old Barney Frank line, asking the Republicans to govern is like asking Frank to judge the Miss America contest — “If your heart’s not in it, you don’t do a very good job.”
You knew that Paul Ryan’s vaunted reputation as a policy wonk was fake news. Republicans have been running on repealing and replacing Obamacare for years and they never even bothered to come up with a valid alternative.
And neither did you, despite all your promises to replace Obamacare with “something terrific” because you wanted everyone to be covered.
Instead, you sold the D.O.A. bill the Irish undertaker gave you as though it were a luxury condo, ignoring the fact that it was a cruel flimflam, a huge tax cut for the rich disguised as a health care bill. You were so concerned with the “win” that you forgot your “forgotten” Americans, the older, poorer people in rural areas who would be hurt by the bill.
As The Times’s chief Washington correspondent Carl Hulse put it, the G.O.P. falls into clover with a lock on the White House and both houses of Congress, and what’s the first thing it does? Slip on a banana peel. Incompetence Inc.
“They tried to sweeten the deal at the end by offering a more expensive bill with fewer health benefits, but alas, it wasn’t enough!” former Obama speechwriter Jon Favreau slyly tweeted.
Despite the best efforts of Bannon to act as though the whole fiasco was a clever way to bury Ryan — a man he disdains as “the embodiment of the ‘globalist-corporatist’ Republican elite,” as Gabriel Sherman put it in New York magazine — it won’t work.
And you can jump on the phone with The Times’s Maggie Haberman and The Washington Post’s Robert Costa — ignoring that you’ve labeled them the “fake media” — and act like you’re in control. You can say that people should have waited for “Phase 2” and “Phase 3” — whatever they would have been — and that Obamacare is going to explode and that the Democrats are going to get the blame. But it doesn’t work that way. You own it now.
You’re all about flashy marketing so you didn’t notice that the bill was junk, so lame that even Republicans skittered away.
You were humiliated right out of the chute by the establishment guys who hooked you into their agenda — a massive transfer of wealth to rich people — and drew you away from your own.
You sold yourself as the businessman who could shake things up and make Washington work again. Instead, you got worked over by the Republican leadership and the business community, who set you up to do their bidding.
That’s why they’re putting up with all your craziness about Russia and wiretapping and unending lies and rattling our allies.
They’re counting on you being a delusional dupe who didn’t even know what was in the bill because you’re sitting around in a bathrobe getting your information from wackadoodles on Fox News and then, as The Post reported, peppering aides with the query, “Is this really a good bill?”
You got played.
It took W. years to smash everything. You’re way ahead of schedule.
And I can say you’re doing badly, because I’m a columnist, and you’re not. Say hello to everybody, O.K.?
Sincerely, Maureen

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/25/opinion/sunday/donald-this-i-will-tell-you.html

RSN: Charles Pierce | Sad Paul Ryan Is Sad



It's Live on the HomePage Now: 
Reader Supported News

Sure, I'll make a donation!

FOCUS: Charles Pierce | Sad Paul Ryan Is Sad 
Paul Ryan. (photo: Getty Images) 
Charles Pierce, Esquire 
Pierce writes: "The ghost, it was given up around 3:30 on Thursday afternoon, at least for 12 hours or so. Speaker Paul Ryan, the zombie-eyed granny starver from the state of Wisconsin, took one in the chops when a vote of his well-camouflaged tax-cut bill was postponed until Friday morning." 
READ MORE

Contribute to RSN
Become a Fan of RSN on Facebook and Twitter







RSN: John Kiriakou | Donald Trump Is Done



Now is not the time for the opposition to sit on their laurels. There’s an old saying in Washington: “Don’t kick a man when he’s down. But once he’s down, don’t stop kicking him.” And that’s what Democrats, progressives, and others have to do — keep kicking. If we keep up the pressure, if we continue our activism, if we block legislation, if we remain in the streets, we can make this president an asterisk in the history books. We can emasculate him starting now. Let’s do it.



It's Live on the HomePage Now: 
Reader Supported News


Sure, I'll make a donation!

FOCUS: John Kiriakou | Donald Trump Is Done 
Donald Trump campaign signs. (photo: Jessica Kourkounis/Getty Images) 
John Kiriakou, Reader Supported News 
Kiriakou writes: "I'm going to go out on a limb, but remember that you heard it here first: Donald Trump is done. He's finished. He's a lame duck president 65 days into his term." 
READ MORE

Contribute to RSN
Become a Fan of RSN on Facebook and Twitter


http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/42688-focus-donald-trump-is-done


RSN: Maine Lawmaker Seeks Discrimination Protection for Climate Change Deniers



Maine's Governor has frequently been the butt of jokes because of his irrational comments....seems like Maine has another Wack-A-Ding to watch. 

Regardless of the success of his Folly,  Maine State Rep Larry Lockman is merely another Swamp Dweller discovered by the Republican Party. Sad for Maine!


It's Live on the HomePage Now:
Reader Supported News

Sure, I'll make a donation!

Maine Lawmaker Seeks Discrimination Protection for Climate Change Deniers 
Guardian UK 
Excerpt: "Maine laws protect people from discrimination based on factors such as race, disabilities and sexual orientation, and a Republican lawmaker wants to add a person's beliefs about climate change to that list." 
READ MORE


Larry Lockman said his bill would reaffirm free speech by protecting climate change supporters as well. (photo: Pacific Press/LightRocket/Getty Images)
Larry Lockman said his bill would reaffirm free speech by protecting climate change supporters as well. 
(photo: Pacific Press/LightRocket/Getty Images)

Maine Lawmaker Seeks Discrimination Protection for Climate Change Deniers

By Guardian UK
26 March 17

State representative introduced a bill that would limit the state attorney general’s ability to investigate or prosecute people based on their political speech

aine laws protect people from discrimination based on factors such as race, disabilities and sexual orientation, and a Republican lawmaker wants to add a person’s beliefs about climate change to that list.
State representative Larry Lockman has introduced a bill that would limit the state attorney general’s ability to investigate or prosecute people based on their political speech, including their views on climate change. It would also prohibit the state from making decisions on buying goods or services or awarding grants or contracts based on a person’s “climate change policy preferences”.
Lockman, an independent business consultant from Amherst, told the Associated Press that he believed it was an open question whether human activity is the primary cause of climate change.
Peer-reviewed studies, science organizations and climate scientists say that the world is warming from manmade forces.
State representative Lois Galgay Reckitt, a Democrat of South Portland and a marine biologist who sits on the judiciary committee that has the bill, said prospects for passage are poor. She said she expected “the entire Democratic caucus is going to hate it”, and some Republicans will, too.
“The issue for me is I’m a scientist and I live near the ocean. It’s absolutely clear to me that climate change is happening, and it worries me,” she said. “I will fight this tooth and nail.”
Lockman wants to prohibit the state attorney general from investigating, joining an investigation or prosecuting any person based on that person’s protected political speech.
But he said his bill would reaffirm free speech by protecting climate change supporters as well.
“I don’t want to see a Republican state attorney general issuing subpoenas for the records of progressive or liberal thinktanks or public policy groups to chill their free speech,” he said.
The Democratic attorney general, Janet Mills, declined to comment.
In his bill, Lockman says that the supreme court’s decision in Citizens United “continued the protection of protected political speech, no matter the source or message”. That case allowed corporations and unions to make unlimited independent expenditures in US elections.
Jonathan Reisman, an associate professor of economics and public policy at the University of Maine at Machias and a vocal critic of the scientific consensus on climate change, said he requested the bill.
He said the bill is an attempt to defend the first amendment freedom of those who speak out in a way that does not reflect the consensus.
“It’s about Citizens United and the government abridging speech,” he said. “It’s not about climate science. It’s about climate policy.”
Lockman has a history of causing controversy. He once dressed as a vampire outside a federal building in Bangor to protest against the Internal Revenue Service. He also once accused liberals of assisting the Aids epidemic, saying they assured “the public that the practice of sodomy is a legitimate alternative lifestyle, rather than a perverted and depraved crime against humanity”.
He said he could not predict the outcome of his latest bill but expected a lot of interest at a public hearing scheduled for 6 April.
Lockman’s bill is “absurd and unnecessary”, said Dylan Voorhees, climate and clean energy project director for the Natural Resources Council of Maine.
“Clearly an attempt to provide cover for climate deniers,” he said. “I see a trickle down from the Trump administration that has emboldened some folks to make climate denial statements.”

http://readersupportednews.org/news-section2/318-66/42681-maine-lawmaker-seeks-discrimination-protection-for-climate-change-deniers





RSN: South Sudan: 'There Are Only Dead Bodies'





South Sudan: 'There Are Only Dead Bodies' 
Peter Lykke Lind, Al Jazeera 
Lind writes: "Edina Itaya shakes under the scorching sun in northern Uganda. Mechanically, she describes her oldest son's final day in South Sudan. 'They came to our house and took my son, drowned him in the river. That is why I fled,' Edina whispers calmly, before describing the four days in September when she was raped by government soldiers." 
READ MORE

Thousands of South Sudanese flee to Uganda every day. Many of them use this informal bush crossing, escaping the SPLA patrols on the South Sudanese side. (photo: Yilmaz Polat/Al Jazeera)
Thousands of South Sudanese flee to Uganda every day. Many of them use this informal bush crossing, 
escaping the SPLA patrols on the South Sudanese side. (photo: Yilmaz Polat/Al Jazeera)

South Sudan: 'There Are Only Dead Bodies'

By Peter Lykke Lind, Al Jazeera
26 March 17

South Sudanese who have fled to Uganda - escaping rape, murder, assault and torture - share their stories.

dina Itaya shakes under the scorching sun in northern Uganda . Mechanically, she describes her oldest son's final day in South Sudan . "They came to our house and took my son, drowned him in the river. That is why I fled," Edina whispers calmly, before describing the four days in September when she was raped by government soldiers.
In the Bidibidi settlement in northern Uganda - one of the largest refugee settlements in the world - Edina is surrounded by clay huts, filled latrines and naked children. The settlement is home to 272,000 South Sudanese; some of the 800,000 who, according to the United Nations, have escaped to Uganda.
Fleeing south from their home, Edina and her three remaining children made it to the town of Baji, where they, along with other women and children, were captured by government soldiers. "They took us to a pile of bodies. The soldiers took off our clothes and raped us, the soldiers were everywhere," she says.
For four days, Edina and the other women were kept locked in a room, separated from their children. Every day, women were picked out, taken to the bush and raped by multiple soldiers.
In March 2016, the UN documented more than 1,300 rapes in just one of South Sudan's 10 regions, describing how rape is used in lieu of salary in the Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA), South Sudan's army.
The SPLA formed as an armed movement in the 1980s and helped South Sudan obtain independence from Sudan in 2011. But civil war broke out in 2013 when President Salva Kiir, a member of the Dinka tribe and commander-in-chief of the SPLA, claimed that Vice-President Riek Machar from the Nuer tribe was plotting a presidential coup, throwing the country into a state of civil war and Machar into exile.
A peace deal was reached in April 2016 and Machar was reinstated as vice-president, but in July conflict broke out again.
Today, the same army that fought for the independence of the people of South Sudan commits crimes against them.
"My husband is still in South Sudan, he fights for the SPLA," says Edina. "I don't sleep at night, I just think," she says, staring blankly.
Nothing but bodies
The war in South Sudan was previously concentrated in the north, but has recently moved further south, reaching the town of Kajo Keji in the Central Equatoria state, forcing thousands to flee across the border to Uganda. Most say they fled in fear of the government forces as they hunt for rebels.
Anyik Chaplain left Kajo Keji only a few days ago, after witnessing four people being killed when rebels clashed with government forces near his home after attacking a police station. "It was at night, at 6am, when I heard the gunshots," he says. "Half an hour later I was told that the police officers were dead. Then we watched the fighting with our own eyes. We had to move." 

He says that he feared both the government forces mistaking him for a rebel and the rebels suspecting him of helping the army. 

"There is no schooling, no food, no services, no authorities, no market - it is a ghost town," Anyik says. 

Luka Lemi, 43, also escaped Kajo Keji last week. "On Sunday, during prayers, they came," he says. "A person came in and said, 'The soldiers are coming'. Both rebels and government forces. We left while they were fighting. Four people were killed."
Many refugees cross the border illegally, escaping the patrolling government soldiers, whom they say demand one last sacrifice before the civilians can leave South Sudan: three American dollars.
Refugees say they try to avoid the soldiers, travelling through the bush, down the hill, across the dried out Kaya stream separating the two countries, up the hill, and into safety.
"They [soldiers] beat me when they came looking for rebels," says Moses Nyaya . Moments earlier, Moses and his family had registered at the temporary reception centre in the town of Afoji, five kilometres from the border.
Thousands of South Sudanese crossed into Uganda each day in February, peaking on February 1, when about 6,700 crossed over, explains Babar Baloch from the UNHCR. Baloch says that the levels of migration are comparable with when fighting broke out in July 2016.
"I have no hope of going back, even if the situation changes. There are only dead bodies in that country," Moses says as he waits to be transported to a nearby refugee settlement. Soon, a truck is filled with people, bicycles, pots and pans.
The lorry will go to one of the refugee settlements in the region. Moses will build a new home there on a plot of land - in theory 30 square-metres - that the Ugandan government provides for each refugee. The UN and the international community deliver aid, of which 30 percent must go to the local hosting community.
However, plots of 30 square-metres are hard to spot. Houses and tents are in close proximity. Holes in the ground serve as toilets - not far apart.
War-driven famine
Refugees describe how the aid provided by the UN and the international NGOs does not suffice. Last year the rations were cut in half and the diet is meagre and repetitive.
In February the UN declared a famine in South Sudan - the first anywhere in six years. It is a direct result of the conflict.
Roughly 5.5 million people, or about 50 percent of South Sudan's population, are expected to become severely food insecure and at risk of death in the coming months, said the UN report.
Organised rapes, mass killings of civilians, and recruitment and use of child soldiers has caused Zeid Ra'ad al Hussein, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, to describe the situation in South Sudan as one of the most dire human rights situations in the world.
South Sudan's refugee crisis is, according to the UN, the biggest in Africa and the third largest globally, as 1.5 million have left the country. Another 2.1 million are internally displaced. Only Syria and Afghanistan produce more refugees.
For men who have fought in the conflict and then fled, there is no escaping their past - regardless of allegiance.
The deserter
Gunshots occupy Emmanuel Malice's dreams, and sometimes the bullets hit him. "I joined the government forces when I was 11," he says, at a safe distance from his neighbours in the Bidibidi settlement.
He is one of several former SPLA soldiers in the settlements, who fled the war they previously fought in.
"I entered the army in 1997 and left when the fighting erupted in July 2016," says Emmanuel. What should have brought peace to his country turned into an ethnic conflict. "I killed when we liberated South Sudan, but never civilians," he says.
His last memory from South Sudan is of the murder of his brother. "He was a priest, he was killed by government forces," Emmanuel says.
He has no physical scars from the war. "All my injuries are in my mind, my family was killed," he says, regretting that he ever fought in the war. He finds moments of peace under a makeshift awning, shared with neighbouring refugees.
The rebel
Frazer Lucky's handshake is firm, even though the fingers on his right hand are missing most of their joints. They were blown off during battles in the South Sudanese town of Yei in 1997.
Frazer - a pseudonym he uses, fearing the SPLA will find and kidnap him - fought in the government forces before changing sides to the rebels.
"I joined the SPLA when I was 11," he says. There were many boys his age in the war; the children's faces haunt him in his dreams.
"I fired my weapon many times in the name of freedom," says Frazer. He left the government army in 2008 as he was dissatisfied with going unpaid and with how he says members of the Dinka tribe were favoured. "It is all about power, I have seen tribes being slaughtered," he says.
He joined the rebels - forces loyal mainly to the former vice president, Riek Machar. But his will to fight was gone. "In the middle of a fight, I gave my weapon to my commander and said; I have had enough, I am tired of fighting, I have fought since 1990. Now I will leave this country."
Frazer, his wife and their seven children walked 150km to the border. "South Sudan is moving backwards," he says, drawing in the sand with a stick. "My future is in Uganda."
His children surround him, while his wife gathers water along with the other women in the camp.
The 86 percent
Rose Tamakais due to give birth to her sixth child any day now. Her husband is still in South Sudan. He went back to get his mother, but Rose has not heard from him in a month. She reminisces about her home. "We had land back there," she says quietly.
Rose and her children are among the 86 percent of South Sudanese refugees who, according to the UN, are women and children.
"Here, I have a bit of land to cultivate but water remains a challenge and the boreholes are broken," she says, cooking one of two meals the family shares a day.
The many long-drop toilets in the area - basically holes in the ground - have to be moved monthly, making it hard to plant crops. When combined with water shortages, land cultivation becomes a challenge.
"We are not reaching our 20 litres a day per person target, we are at 14.6 [litres] right now," says Joao Sobral, team leader of the UN unit in the region.
Rose rises at 6am every morning, cleans her small plot and cooks flour porridge for her children.
"I am bored during the day, and I cannot sleep at night. I am tortured by thoughts of home," she says. "[The children] used to ask: Why are we here? We want to go home. I told them about the violence and killings in South Sudan, and then they understood," says Rose, as the sun starts to set on the thousands of families in the settlement.
Open borders
After the Bidibidi settlement in Uganda closed to new refugees on December 8, having filled up in only four months, the Palorinya settlement opened in the Moyo region. Palorinya's population grew to 111,000 people in only two months.
Uganda's ongoing open-door refugee policy has received praise from the international community, especially from the UN, for being progressive and forward-thinking.
At a reception centre in Yumbe, local UN representative Frederick Jackson Oculi labels the Ugandan refugee policy "second to none".
The east African nation is among the 10 countries in the world with the highest refugee population - hosting around 865,000 by December 2016.
Robert Baryamswesiga, Uganda's Bidibidi settlement administrator, describes how attempts are made to put the refugees to work. One of the working refugees is Charles Moro, who proudly shows off some of the 754 shelters he helped to build. "It feels good to do something, to contribute," he says. Other men are digging holes in the ground that will serve as toilets or boreholes. 

"They are like gasoline to our economy," Robert says.
He explains how refugees, in principle, have free movement. "We have gotten them to safety, now they must live," he says.
However, Chris Dolan, director at the Refugee Law Project at Makerere University in Uganda, says there are limitations. "Those living in settlements are supposed to seek permission to travel inside Uganda, and for many of them who do not have experience in farming, being caught in the settlements up north is a problem," he says.
Dolan asks, rhetorically, what choice Uganda had when South Sudanese initially sought safety: "How are you going to stop one million refugees crossing an extensive land border?"
The process is not entirely smooth, Titus Jogo, an administrator responsible for implementing Uganda's open-door policy in the Adjumani region, admits. "We are struggling with poverty here, we need support," he says.
According to the World Bank, Uganda is one of the world's poorest countries and about 20 percent of the population lives on less than $1.25 per day.
Most of the poorest Ugandans live in the country's northern region, which shelters hundreds of thousands of refugees.
Despite the challenges, Titus Jogo insists local businesses have benefited, and a 2016 study conducted by researchers from Davis University and the UN's World Food Programme (WFP) backs Jogo's claims. The study found that "when a refugee household receives cash from the WFP, the annual income in the Ugandan economy increases by $1,100 - and by $850 when the assistance is given in the form of in-kind food".
It took time before the local community felt the benefits. Isaac Vuchiri lives in Egge - a village bordering the Adjumani settlement. "There is improvement, like in medicine and healthcare, and lots of schools constructed. There was one school before, now there are 15," he says.
Beatrice Eimani, another villager, describes how hunger has come to Egge. "We used to get porridge for breakfast, and then dinner. Now it's only one meal a day."
"The hunger affects us a lot. My children do not get enough to eat and they ask for food. I try and calm them down and give them just a little bit," says Beatrice - pointing to where she previously harvested crops on fields that are now populated by Adjumani settlement inhabitants.
Isaac describes how water shortages were exacerbated as the refugees arrived, explaining how recently constructed boreholes - paid for by the UN and the international community, like all aid in the area - have improved the situation.
More boreholes will soon be needed. On February 23, the Imvepi settlement opened in the Arua region, and will accommodate another 110,000 South Sudanese refugees - some of the 925,000 the UN expects will arrive in Uganda this year.
Everyone suffers
In December 2016, then UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said "the risk of these mass atrocities, which include recurring episodes of ethnic cleansing, escalating into possible genocide is all too real".
In a letter seen by Reuters news agency and sent by a former government army general, Thomas Cirillo Swaka, he described the military raping and killing civilians, and a network of secret prisons where torture is endemic.
According to Swaka, the government has systematically transformed the SPLA into a tribal army, while "terrorising their opponents, real or perceived, has become a preoccupation of the government".
The former general describes how the government has used decrees to de-populate oil-rich regions, some of which are Nuer tribal heartlands. The military, police and other security branches systematically recruit and post Dinkas to support a policy of land occupation, he wrote.
Some point out that it is not only members of Nuer tribe who are suffering from government violence.
"The politicians talk about Dinkas and Nuers, but I only see South Sudanese being killed," says Simon Marchiek, a member of the Dinka tribe and one of 160,000 inhabitants of the three-year-old Adjumani settlement.
"Everyone complains about the government army, including the Dinkas. South Sudanese are suffering under President Kiir's rule," says Marchiek . 

While the South Sudanese government has not responded to Al Jazeera's request for comment, Ateny Wek Ateny, a spokesman for the presidency, told the South Sudanese newspaper, the Sudan Tribune, that reports of genocide and violations of human rights are merely an attempt to garner international sympathy for sanctions and embargoes on the country.
The victims say they have no means of reporting the assaults, murders and rapes by the government forces. "There is no justice," says Edina Itaya, back at the Bidibidi settlement.
She scans the settlement when asked what the future holds. "My children might have a future, but I do not have one. I do not know how long I will be on this earth. Not for long I think."
Edina is in pain when she eats - the beatings she received while being gang raped have given her chronic kidney problems and an ulcer.
As long as the killings continue in South Sudan, Edina does not want to return. She would rather live here, in a temporary structure, with thestench of urine, faeces and sweat,among hundreds of thousands of compatriots, she says.
"At least here, there are no sounds of gunshots at night."



RSN: Inspector General Reviewing HHS Decision to Halt ObamaCare Ads



THIS IS A NATIONAL DISGRACE!

WHY ARE REPUBLICANS DENYING AMERICANS HEALTH CARE?  




It's Live on the HomePage Now: 
Reader Supported News

Sure, I'll make a donation!


Inspector General Reviewing HHS Decision to Halt ObamaCare Ads 
Nikita Vladimirov, The Hill 
Vladimirov writes: "The Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) inspector general is reviewing the Trump administration's decision earlier this year to halt its ObamaCare outreach efforts." 
READ MORE

'Don't take away our health care.' (photo: Getty Images)
'Don't take away our health care.' (photo: Getty Images)


Inspector General Reviewing HHS Decision to Halt ObamaCare Ads

By Nikita Vladimirov, The Hill
26 March 17

he Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) inspector general is reviewing the Trump administration's decision earlier this year to halt its ObamaCare outreach efforts.
The review was initiated after Democratic Sens. Elizabeth Warren (Mass.) and Patty Murray (Wash.) requested the HHS watchdog investigate the administration's move in late January.
"We will conduct a fact-finding review of HHS's decision related to halting (and resuming, as applicable) paid advertisements, email, social media, and other outreach efforts related to Marketplace enrollment in 2017," HHS Inspector General Daniel Levinson wrote in a letter to the lawmakers dated Thursday.
"Our inquiry will include the timeline, decision-making process, and factors considered by HHS, including any HHS analyses of implications for enrollment and/or expected costs or savings," he added.
Warren welcomed a review of the Trump administration's move.
"I'm glad that there will be an independent review of the Trump Administration's decision to cut off efforts to enroll people in the ACA," Warren said in a statement, referring to the Affordable Care Act.
"President Trump and congressional Republicans have made clear that their priorities include destroying the protection that ACA gives millions of families. HHS's move to halt outreach for ACA enrollment could contribute to weakening health care marketplaces and raising costs for hard working people across the country," she added.
Murray also praised the review, saying she will keep HHS secretary Tom Price and the GOP "accountable for any and all efforts to create Trumpcare by sabotaging our health care system and undermining families' access to care they need."
"Secretary Price has a duty to provide the public with accurate and timely information so that they can make decisions about their health care," she said.
The Trump administration pulled the ads during the last week of open enrollment that ended on Jan. 31. Critics saw the move as an attempt by the new administration to decrease the ObamaCare enrollment numbers ahead of the deadline.
The inspector general review comes as House GOP leaders on Friday pulled their legislation aimed at repealing and replacing ObamaCare, after several dozen Republicans came out against the plan.